Some Enchanted Evening

You may see a stranger.

You may see a stranger, across a crowded room…

I had such an encounter yesterday. The longing. The excitement. The bargain.

Be still my heart.

At first, I thought I’d paint the whole cabinet white, but after making friends with it, I’m not sure I can. I may try replacing the back with a piece of white beadboard and see if I can forgive myself.  If I remain unbeset by conscience after such a breach of civility, this little darling may have a date with a can of paint.

I also found a set of milk-glass octagonal mugs and this funky, medieval-looking sconce.

Just funny little things but they get my creative energies peaking. I start dreaming of the day I can put out a few knickknacks without fearing that my sons will turn a funky sconce into a halberd and try to impale one another.

But that’s my life.

And somehow you know, you know even then.

That somewhere you’ll see her, again and again…

About The Chatelaine

The Dragonslayer's Wife. Mother of two Knights of The Realm. Keeper of the castle. Dame of The Order of Goldfish. Empress of Errands. Mistress of Leftovers. Writer betimes. Luckiest woman in the world.
This entry was posted in Decorating, Thrifting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

