Tray Chic

Corny title? Check.

Pictures of marginal photographic quality? Check.

The author reveling in yet more chugly thrift store finds? Check!

A veritable Raising Camelot trifecta. And it’s not even your birthday.

BEFORE:

Pheasant Tray

Today’s contestant is this salute to “hunter chic” decor, a drabulous metal tray depicting a pair of pheasants. All for the rock-bottom price of $1.00 plus tax.

[Please excuse my roll of painter’s tape. A photo stylist could probably teach me a thing or ten, but the truth is, I just didn’t want to walk back upstairs to get an easel. I’m not incompetent. Just lazy. NOTE: This will be a recurring theme of my blog.]

AFTER:

Bye-Bye, Birdies

A little chalkboard spray paint and calendared vinyl later. Soon to be hung in my kitchen for menus, shopping lists, etc.

TOTAL COST: $5.70

  • Pheasant Tray: $1.00
  • Chalkboard Paint: $6.99 – 40% coupon = $4.20
  • Vinyl: Hard to figure, but I’m guessing about 50 cents.

I forgot to chalk something or put cute magnets on this before I photographed it, so you’ll have to take me at my word: it’s magnetic and chalkboardic.

Piano con calma

“Piano con calma” is Italian for “slowly, with calm,” a quote I stole from The Hills of Tuscany. (By the way, one of my all-time favorite books. It’s strange to read a book you didn’t write and discover the author’s voice sounds an awful lot like the one in your head. Strange in like a really cool, “I’m not alone in my craziness,” kind of way.)

I chose the quote because it is a good reminder, especially when I’m in the kitchen. These days, it seems more like wishful thinking, but I try.

Speaking of trying…

Faux Grain Sack Pillows

…I’ll be posting more about these props later.

I’m in love.

Yes, “again.”


Linking up to:

Nesting Place

Funky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

The DIY Show Off

About The Chatelaine

The Dragonslayer's Wife. Mother of two Knights of The Realm. Keeper of the castle. Dame of The Order of Goldfish. Empress of Errands. Mistress of Leftovers. Writer betimes. Luckiest woman in the world.
This entry was posted in Books, Crafting, Decorating, Thrifting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tray Chic

  1. What a cute makeover with this $1.00 tray…come join for my thrifty party!

  2. patti says:

    Your tray came out great!!

  3. Jessi says:

    I love it! And I love the quote. The vinyl looks really nice on there! Thanks for sharing!

  4. ann stephens says:

    Very chic tray…I’m lovin’ it!

  5. "m" says:

    Love how this turned out! What a cool quote.

  6. Liz says:

    LOVE it! I can’t wait to find my own to re-do. Thanks!

    Liz
    Loving This Mom Stuff

Leave a Reply

