It’s All in How You Say It

It only takes having a four-year-old to learn how key enunciating your words can be.

For example, my four-year-old has the tendency to drop a lot of “R”s. Mostly harmless. Except when saying at least one word.

Today’s lesson:

I was in the kitchen fixing the kids a sandwich after church. Griffin was battling with the buttons of a collared, button-down shirt — his nemesis. After a few minutes of struggling, his annoyed and plaintive request:

“Will you get this sh-t offa me?”

Say what???

For the moment before I could put it together, I was horrified. Then I got it.

Shirt. He said: “shirt.”

Whew.

I know a lot of you parents have a list of “no-no” words your kids aren’t allowed to say. Butt, stupid, hate, shut-up, etc. Maybe you can help me out with this one.

Exactly how do I ask him to never say the word “shirt” again?

About The Chatelaine

The Dragonslayer's Wife. Mother of two Knights of The Realm. Keeper of the castle. Dame of The Order of Goldfish. Empress of Errands. Mistress of Leftovers. Writer betimes. Luckiest woman in the world.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s All in How You Say It

  1. AtOneWithHim says:

    Maybe start calling it a top. Thanks for sharing.. funny story.

Leave a Reply

