Love Letters

Gary Chapman will tell you that there are five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch.

In my family, we favored Ritualized Sarcasm. Especially in collage-form.

I was 13 or 14 the first time I went away to camp for one whole week. Knowing I would get homesick, I prodded my older sister and two younger brothers to write me while I was away.

A couple of days into my stay at camp, my name was announced during mail call. I had mail! I was so excited (and yes, a little homesick) and couldn’t wait to open the large manila envelope addressed in my sister’s handwriting.

But it wasn’t a letter.

I remember being a little upset at the time. I’d asked for a letter and gotten…this???

Now that I’ve grown into my sense of humor, I find the collage hilarious. I’m also glad I continued to receive new versions for years afterward, including two summers of college when I lived in Florida. My sister was married and away by that time, but my brothers assumed the mantle of abuse and kept up the tradition. I now have a whole file over which to reminisce.

I hope my twisted sense of humor is starting to sound more reasonable to you.

Some families just hug.

How much they miss.

Abigail

About The Chatelaine

The Dragonslayer's Wife. Mother of two Knights of The Realm. Keeper of the castle. Dame of The Order of Goldfish. Empress of Errands. Mistress of Leftovers. Writer betimes. Luckiest woman in the world.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

